The Joan Andrews Scholarship
Introducing the

Joan Andrews Hearing Loss Scholarship

Image courtesy of the Floridian East- Sunday April 18, 1999 | The Times

From the Joan Andrews Family:

On behalf of the Andrews family, I want to thank you and the HLAA-Florida members for continuing to support the Joan Andrews Scholarship, which honors Mother’s work and her memory. Knowing her, she would be most proud of the daily work involved in fulfilling the HLAA mission. To have a deserving nominee for the scholarship speaks clearly to the earnest with which the Florida organization continues to provide access to information and services to its membership.

I know that I can speak for my sisters when I say, we will always be grateful for the opportunities and assistance provided by the HLAA organization to our Mother’s successful journey through her many years from hearing loss to deafness and, ultimately, to her cochlear implant.

We were pleased to be able to contribute to the Scholarship fund the year following our mother’s death. Our combined intent is to continue to make an annual contribution to support the Joan Andrews Scholarship.

Jane Smith, Judy Waldrop and Sally Long


Please check the application page for the next scholarship application deadline. Previous winners


The Joan Andrews Scholarship Thank You
Previous Winners of the

Joan Andrews Hearing Loss Scholarship

Congratulations to all, well-deserved.

Thank you to all the candidates for their applications and for their service to HLAA-FL. Thank you also to the contributions from the daughters of Joan Andrews, who have made this scholarship possible.



Winners for past Joan Andrews Scholarships:


2023 – Vince Portulano
2019 – Tanya Williams
2018 – Karen Goldberg
2017 – Linda Tossoonian
2016 – Anne Keller
2015 – Dee Boleman
2014 – Debbe Hagner
2013 – Marjie Anderson